I Remember….

One of the most difficult things I find in depression is coping with the memory loss that occurs. My husband who has dealt with depression in various degrees off and on for the 45 years of our marriage cannot now remember various happenings.  I will bring something up, sure that he would remember it and he doesn’t.  He can remember in large stretches – we got married, our kids were born, he worked – but he cannot remember individual incidents.

I know that some of this is due first of all to the trauma of depression. When a brain has to deal with illness, some changes have to take place.  Perhaps memory is one of them.  Also, there is the problem of all the medication he takes.  I’m sure all of them individually are good and safe but in combination?  I’m not so sure if the cure often offers more challenges.

This is yet another loss that people who love those with depression have to deal with. I want to share the silly time when we had such a full house for dinner that someone actually sat at table with their chair in our side hall.  I want to share about how our kids would get excited about the Great Pumpkin coming to visit in the guise of our neighborhood real estate woman. There are so many memories to share, ones that pop up at odd moments through the day but I can’t share these small moments with him because it heightens his depression to know that he doesn’t remember.  And this memory loss only adds to depression when he can’t remember the good things he’s done with people, with his children.  He sadly thinks he was therefore not a good friend or father.

So many facets of depression and so few of those facets are discussed.

– Bernadette

2 Responses

  1. This is a very real problem with depression and you’re right, it’s not really talked about at all. Depression is so much more than “depression.” I suffer from many chronic illnesses, one being Major Depressive Disorder. I take a lot of medication due to all my illnesses. In my case, I’m pretty certain that the medication has a lot to do with my memory, more so than the depression, itself.
    Would it help, do you think, to bring out the photo albums when talking about some of the memories? That way, he could actually see himself in some of these “memories.” Just a thought. I wish you and your family the very best. Take care. XX 🙂

  2. I don’t have any words to say except that i am so glad that you share and write about the truth of your life. Just thank you.

What do you think?

