Today is the test.

Having struggled with Seasonal Affective Disorder for several years, I finally broke down and not only bought, but actually started using, a light therapy box a couple of weeks ago. So far I’m seeing positive effects. I have more energy during the day, and I’m able to stay awake and alert until about 10:00 pm (as compared to 7:00 pm – definitely an improvement).

But last night came that dreaded “falling back.” Everyone else I know loves that day, with its built-in extra hour of sleep. I’ve come to dread it, because it means DARK…SO EARLY!!!

I’m feeling a little more optimistic about the whole SAD thing this year, though. Besides the success of the light box, my husband is in a mental place that is 100% improved compared to last year. Finally making the decision for a career change has made him a whole new person. And, as Bern and I have always said, depression is contagious. Thankfully, right now, the depression bug is absent from this household. Long may it be thus!

-Amy

What do you think?

