• Our latest book:

    By Amy and Bernadette

    Our latest book:

  • Also by Bernadette and Amy:

We’re both recovering.

After nearly 18 months of a downhill slide, my husband’s depression is lifting, in a big way. This recovery has everything to do with a new career path he’s chosen, for which he’ll begin training in just under a week.

I’m noticing the changes daily. Singing around the house. Tackling tasks he hates with good humor. Enthusiastically digging into a project he’s put off for months. Handling business details, career change details, and financial details with energy and efficiency. Honestly, it’s like he’s someone I haven’t seen for years.

It’s good timing. Between the wrench of moving our oldest and youngest away for school and the rapidly descending SAD season, I don’t have a lot of emotional reserves. I’m finding that the relief due to his major change in mood has allowed me some much-needed emotional down time. For at least a while I’ve been able to stop being the tough one, the together one, the responsible one.

In the past I’ve had a hard time trusting this type of turnaround. A giant dip in the depression roller coaster is so often just around the corner. But I’m taking it differently this time. I don’t know if it’s because of how thoroughly he’s improved, or if it’s a sign of how completely exhausted I was.

Either way, I’m enjoying the change.

-Amy

6 Responses

  1. Great to hear your husband is doing much better Amy. I hope for your sake it stays around and you can get some well deserved rest x

  2. So glad to hear……hope it continues for a very long time.

  3. I hear you. My Garden Gnome is improving day by day. It’s so great to see. Now I can concentrate on getting my own issues under control.

  4. It sounds like a true improvement, coming as it does at a time of year when it is easy to fall into despair during the long nights. I will keep hoping this is the start of good times xx

What do you think?

