A new SAD season

personal.psu.edu

personal.psu.edu

I don’t like to admit it, but it’s time to start thinking about dealing with Seasonal Affective Disorder again. Sunlight comes later every morning. Darkness comes earlier every evening. As much as I love the season of autumn, I don’t love the accompanying dive in mood and energy. I’m especially concerned this year, with our new empty-ish nest life. There’s a lot less noise and activity in our home; a lot less laughter to dispel the gloom.

I’ll start taking a daily antidepressant in a week or so. My doctor suggested I double the dose if I need to. And she disapproved of my decision last year to dump the “happy light” I found at Costco. (The directions stated that the light can cause negative side effects in users who are taking antidepressants. Seriously? Is there anyone using one of these who’s NOT on antidepressants?) So “happy light” is back on the shopping list.

It’s time to get serious about this SAD thing. It’s no joke, especially when it’s experienced in close quarters with another family member with chronic depression. Is anyone else out there preparing for the SAD battle? I’d like to hear how you fight it.

-Amy

What do you think?

