• Our latest book:

    By Amy and Bernadette

    Our latest book:

  • Also by Bernadette and Amy:

Seeking Strength

light

And above all, watch with glittering eyes the whole world around you because the greatest secrets are always hidden in the most unlikely places.  Those who don’t believe in magic will never find it…..Roald Dahl

And when I wake in the morning, from my lips come the grateful prayer of thanks for I have been gifted with another day.  I see the morning sun beginning to lighten the sky.  I hear the birds singing and the morning bark from our neighbor dog.  I plod into the bathroom and look in the mirror.  Instead of the puffy eyes and messed hair, I see someone who indeed looks beautiful and well rested and ready for anything.  The magic has begun.

Out of clutter, find simplicity…..Albert Einstein

Yesterday was a difficult day for my loved one, so dishes sit and wait to be washed, dust bunnies scatter on the floor as I walk past.  A stack of library books teeter on the edge of the piano, threatening to fall at anytime.  My loved one walks in, takes in the mess, finds his glass from yesterday, rinses it in the sink and fills it with orange juice.  The simple act encourages me to do the same. The juice is cold and tart and just what both of us need.

I feel my heart new opened……John Fletcher

And with those little happenings, with my loved one’s silly act, I find my heart being assured that once again we can deal with the day, with the depression, with all the baggage that comes along with it.  I will be able to keep the love of holy laughing in me because I see someone smile after the orange juice is finished, I hear the birds singing louder, and I feel my hand reach out and rub the shoulder of my loved one, and I taste the hope of a new day.  A day, when taken one step at a time can be the best day ever no matter what happens because in the words of Ralph Waldo Emerson……

All I have seen teaches me to trust the Creator for all I have not seen.  

Strength for the day when dealing with depression makes all the difference in the world.

– Bernadette

2 Responses

  1. I love this. It really encapsulates that feeling of hope, so often lacking when the black dog looms. That feeling that you get when you realise that, actually, everything is going to be OK.

What do you think?

