• Our latest book:

    By Amy and Bernadette

    Our latest book:

  • Also by Bernadette and Amy:

Hope in the Present Moment

Hope.  We all have it, especially when we deal with illness.  With depression it is the hope that things will get better, that the person we love and care about will know what it is to be happy.

The other day I was reading my daily meditation   It was from Thich Nhat Hanh, a Buddhist holy man.  “Hope is important because it can make the present moment less difficult to bear. If we believe that tomorrow will be better, we can bear a hardship today.”  But then he went on to say thtr we cannot dwell on hope or we will forget the present moment.  We will miss the moments of pain, the moments of joy, the moments of learning.

When I took time to think about it, it made real sense to me.  Too often I spend time hoping about the future, how things will be better, how I will return to a sense of normalcy.  I fantasize about how great life will be once depression is behind us and in the process I miss the present moment.  I miss when there is laughter at a joke after many days of moroseness.  I miss the things my depressed loved one is saying because I think I have heard it all before.  And I miss the little hints that what I hope for is just around the corner.

Much as we should “trust in God but tie up our camel,”  so too we must hope but nurture that present moment or we will miss the signs of the good things to come.

-Bernadette

2 Responses

  1. Excellent post! As great as hope is, the only thing we can really be sure about is now. And that’s what we need to appreciate and focus on as much as we can.

What do you think?

