Hope Rocks

20130607-060657.jpg

Hope rocks. Noun/verb or adjective/noun? While playing around with a new look for our blog last night, the phrase stuck in my mind and gave me something to muse on.

When Bern and I attend conferences to do presentations and an information table, we lug along a big box of shiny, smooth river rocks on which we’ve written the word hope. A lot of people glance at our display and hurry on without making eye contact – depression isn’t exactly an alluring topic. We have a secret weapon, though in our “hope rocks.” People who are obviously uncomfortable with the subject of depression and brain illness can’t resist when we invite them to paw through our bowl of hope rocks and choose the one that feels best in their hand. The coolness and texture is a tactile sensation that makes even the most stoic smile and say, “How fun! I love rocks!” While they’re enjoying the experience, we throw in a few words about carrying their rock with them as a reminder that we can always have hope, even in the darkest of times. We encourage them to take an extra rock or two for a friend or a child, and they walk away from our table with a smile.

To put it simply, our hope rocks are a reminder that hope rocks (see what I did there?). I’ve had a lot of days lately when I needed to be reminded. Today, on an absolutely glorious and sunny late spring morning, I’m going to go out of my way to collect figurative hope rocks to add to my smooth, shiny, touchable specimens. That sunshine and the cardinal singing its almost-decipherable song in the back yard will be the first two of the day. An intentionally positive attitude about an extended family event taking place this evening (which has the potential to be anywhere from uncomfortable to miserable) will be an important virtual hope rock for me today.

What hope rocks will you collect today?

-Amy

6 Responses

  1. I love “hope rocks”. Today hasn’t been a good one for me finding them, but tomorrow I know (because hope rocks?) that I’ll find and smooth a few. Good luck with finding yours today, I hope they see you through the night,

  2. I like how you put this, and will think of this the next time I see a rock. As far as the quality of your writing…I think it rocks : )

  3. lol, I have about a garden full of them 😉

  4. oh yeah – and got my first one at a Suicide Survivor group!

What do you think?

