Depression Quest

http://www.pastemagazine.com/articles/2013/02/depression-quest-review-pcmaclinux.html

I enjoy video games, especially if there is a mystery connected with the game. It gives me a time to relax, enter another world – much like reading a book – and interact with the characters and, besides, I love playing games of any kind.

When I came across a game called Depression Quest, I was immediately skeptical. A game about depression? But then I remembered that I was the one talking animatedly with whoever would listen about “Depression: The Musical.” After reading more about the game, I decided to try it.

It is not your conventional video game with graphics and hidden pictures and items to search for. Frankly, it brought me back to the early computer games I liked that let you make choice about what you would do – meet the dragon head on or hide until help came. Throughout the game you make choices and you realize somewhere along the way: it is not the choices you make but rather the choices you don’t make that spell the difference.

In the game you play as someone with depression. Through a series of everyday life events, you not only have to take care of your illness, you have to manage relationships, your job, and choices about treatment. The game aims to show other sufferers of depression that they are not alone in their feelings, and to illustrate to people who may not understand the illness the depths of what it can do to people.

The game was designed to spread awareness so there is no amount you have to pay to play the game. Should you wish to give something to the developers of the game for the work they have done, a portion of the proceeds will be donated to iFred, an organization aiming to shed a positive light on depression throughout the world to prevent the onset, to research causes and treatments, and to fight the negative stigma attached to depression.

I tried the game, and although I did not play it to the end, I realized that it was indeed presenting me with the choices that I needed to make if I were to meet depression head on and deal with it. Try it yourself for free at http://www.depressionquest.com/
-Bernadette

What do you think?

